Pittsburgh Council on Higher Education (PCHE)

The Pittsburgh Council on Higher Education (PCHE) is a voluntary, multi-purpose consortium of the ten accredited colleges and universities in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Founded in 1966, the membership includes Carlow University, Carnegie Mellon University, Chatham University, Community College of Allegheny County, Duquesne University, La Roche College, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary, Point Park University, Robert Morris University, and the University of Pittsburgh.

From the beginning, PCHE’s purposes have been:

  • To provide a means for sharing resources, insights, and information among the participating member institutions;
  • To engage in joint or cooperative activities and projects;
  • To offer a common voice on maters that affect all of the member institutions.

Through association and collaboration, the diverse membership of PCHE works to enhance the intellectual, cultural, and economic vitality of Pittsburgh. Cooperation through PCHE strengthens each individual institution, its faculty, its administration, and its student body.